1. Car Buying Advice
  2. /
  3. Honda Trim Levels Breakdown

Picture of a Honda CR-V in a winter landscape

Honda Trim Levels

AutoNation Editors' Guide to Honda's Trim Levels

Be sure to stop by our AutoNation Honda dealership today to check out Honda's extensive lineup.

Discovering Honda trim levels

It's an understatement to say Honda has a diverse lineup of products. From small subcompacts,  to cars, to crossovers, to hybrids, the company's lineup is extensive. There's even a pickup truck and a minivan! But with eleven different nameplates offered in a total of eleven trim levels, choosing the right Honda can be a daunting task. To make things easier, we've broken down all the differences in Honda's various trim levels.

What are trim level options?

A trim level is how a manufacturer identifies a vehicle's level of equipment and special features, including luxe interiors and premium sound systems. The trim level you choose can determine how much you spend, and the more features you add, the higher your sticker price can get.

What do the trim level names mean?

Trim level names are devised by product designers to best communicate the package offering, for example, the Honda CR-V Sport features a honeycomb grille for 2020. The trim level names offer a glimpse of what the consumer can expect from the overall package.

Below, we've enumerated the trim level options for Honda vehicles so that you can know what to expect when shopping various Honda cars and SUVs.

Where can I find cars, trucks, or SUVS at different trim levels?

For starters, you can enjoy our guide below to discover all of the eleven different Honda trim level options. Then you can head over to our inventory of new or used vehicles to see if the car you want is at one of our AutoNation Honda dealerships near you.

Honda logo

Browse Honda vehicle trim levels

Our AutoNation Drive automotive experts have cobbled together the details about the various Honda trim levels, of which there are eleven to choose from. Get in the know before you head to one of our AutoNation Honda dealerships near you for a test drive.

View of the Honda Accord LX trim level

Honda LX

For most Honda models, the LX trim is the most basic trim level you can get, but it's far from stripped down. Even on Honda's smallest offering, the Fit hatchback, the LX trim level delivers features such as a five-inch color LCD screen, automatic headlights, body-colored rear spoiler, power windows with automatic up/down driver's window and the Multi-Angle Rearview Camera. For the 2020 model year, here are the models that are offered in a base LX trim level: Fit, Civic Sedan, Civic Coupe, Civic Hatchback, Insight, Accord, HR-V, CR-V, Pilot and Odyssey

View of the Honda Sport trim level

Honda Sport

The Sport trim level is the base version of the Passport and Ridgeline, and on other models, it adds stylish touches such as optional wheels, LED lighting and chrome exhaust finishers.Some Honda cars, like the Accord and Civic, also add exclusive touches like steering wheel paddle shifters on the Sport trim for an added dose of sportiness. Notably, the Accord Sport is one of the last remaining mid-size family sedans available with a manual transmission. For the 2020 model year, these nameplates are available with a Sport trim level: Fit, Civic Sedan, Civic Coupe, Civic Hatchback, Accord, HR-V, Passport and Ridgeline

View of the Honda EX trim level

Honda EX

Stepping up in terms of both equipment and safety, the EX trim level is available on the Odyssey, Insight, CR-V, HR-V, Pilot, Accord Hybrid, Accord, Civic Sedan, Civic Coupe, Civic Hatchback and Fit. On the compact CR-V crossover, the EX trim level adds features such as push-button start, dual-zone automatic climate control, heated front seats, and a 12-way power-adjustable driver's seat as well as Honda's Blind Spot Information System with Cross Traffic Monitor for increased safety.

View of the Honda EX-L trim level

Honda EX-L

Continuing up the ladder, Honda's EX-L trim adds more luxury to EX models. For the Honda Passport, this includes the addition of features such as LED low-beam headlights, heated side mirrors, acoustic glass on the windshield, power windows with automatic up/down front windows, leather-wrapped steering wheel, leather seats with power front seats and an eight-inch infotainment system with standard Apple CarPlay and Android Auto integration. In addition to the Passport, the EX-L trim level is also available on the Odyssey, CR-V, HR-V, Pilot, Accord Hybrid, Accord, Civic Sedan, Civic Hatchback and Fit.

View of the Honda EX-L Navi/RES trim level

Honda EX-L Navi/RES

Taking the EX-L trim level up a notch, the Odyssey and Pilot can be had with the EX-L Navi/RES trim. This adds navigation and Honda's advanced Rear Entertainment System (RES),  as well as the CabinWatch rear seat monitor, HondaLink, and mobile hotspot capability.

View of the Honda RTL trim level

Honda RTL

The Ridgeline is the only Honda model to offer the RTL trim level, and it basically delivers the same equipment offered on the EX-L trim. This includes leather seats, leather-wrapped steering wheel and power-adjustable and front seats.

View of the Honda Touring trim level

Honda Touring

This trim level checks all the option boxes, and on the Accord, that even includes the optional turbocharged engine. On this Accord 2.0T, the Touring trim level brings a unique wheel design, chrome exterior door handles, full LED headlights, memory-linked side mirrors, courtesy approach lights, navigation, mobile hotspot capability, wireless phone charger and a premium 10-speaker audio system. The Touring trim is available on the Odyssey, Insight, CR-V, HR-V, Passport, Pilot, Accord Hybrid, Accord (2.0T only), Civic Sedan, Civic Sedan, Civic Coupe and the Clarity Plug-In Hybrid (Clarity Electric and Fuel Cell monospec models).

View of the Honda Touring Sport trim level

Honda Touring Sport

The Civic Hatchback is the only model where the Sport Touring trim level is available, and this car offers a mix of sporty looks with a high-lux interior. Like the Civic Hatchback Sport, the Sport Touring also gets the stylish center-mounted dual exhaust outlets and 18-inch alloy wheels, but it also adds LED headlights, rain-sensing windshield wipers, leather interior, power-adjustable passenger seat and Honda Satellite-Linked Navigation. The Sport and Sport Touring trim levels are the only ways to get a manual transmission or paddle shifters (CVT) on the Civic Hatchback.

View of Honda Elite Trim Level

Honda Elite

On Honda's biggest vehicles like the Pilot, Passport and Odyssey, the Elite trim level is the very top of the line. On the Pilot and Passport, it includes standard all-wheel drive, but this trim also includes features like power-folding and heated side mirrors, rain-sensing windshield wipers, heated and cooled front seats, wireless phone charging and an upgraded premium audio system.

View of the Honda RTL-E trim level

Honda RTL-E

Instead of the Elite trim level, the Ridgeline gets the RTL-E trim, which adds LED low-beam headlights, Honda Satellite-Linked Navigation, Truck-Bed power outlet, Truck-Bed Audio System, eight-speaker 540-watt audio system, SiriusXM radio, HD Radio and second-row USB charging ports.